Tag Archives: tutor

ePortfolio updates to support the “offer” of a meeting

There have been some further developments in ePortfolio to support the next stage of the rollout for Personal Tutoring. From the start of the academic year, tutor / tutees interactions with Stage 1 & 2, and PGT students should be recorded. The minimum frequency of meetings should be in line with the personal tutoring framework which states, ‘Tutors will meet with their students at least twice during their first semester in the University and offer students at least one tutor meeting per semester after Semester 1. ‘
ePortfolio has been developed to allow for this ‘offer of tutorial contact’ to occur from the system. These changes are outlined below.
Record Meeting / Offer Meeting
On the tutee information pages, you now have the option to Record Meeting / Offer Meeting. This will take you through to a very similar form to the one previously existing in the system. The change will depend on the date you choose.
Retrospective recordings
If our have already had the meeting and are recording this, you can now set the status of the meeting from the initial setup form (took place in person, at a distance, or did not take place at all).
Offer of a meeting
By choosing a date in the future, you are making an offer of a meeting to the student. They will receive an email outlining the date, time, venue, etc, that will also include the option to decline the meeting. If they do not decline, they are automatically assumed to have accepted.
Meeting slots
One of the best ways to ensure you are meeting your requirement of the ‘offering of meeting’ is to use meeting slots. Meeting slots are the online equivalent of the sign-up sheet  tutors use that specify when the tutor is free. Find out more about meeting slots here.
There is a series of webinars and workshops to support you with your use of ePortfolio. Find out more about these here.

How long do past tutees stay in the system?

Any meeting records you have entered into ePortfolio will remain for many years. We cannot guarantee that these will be kept indefinitely but we are yet to have any need to delete them due to space issues.

Accessing the tutee information screens does not last as long as the link between tutor / tutee is lost when the student account becomes inactive. This may be a development priority for the future.

How does a student cancel a meeting slot?

There are two ways that students can cancel the slot they have previously booked on. The cancellation has to be outside the ‘no amendment” time set when creating the meeting slots.

The two methods are:
1) In the “My Calendar” link on the homepage, any booked meetings show up in a purple colour. Students can click on their booking to cancel (they are asked for a reason for this cancellation).

2) They can click on their tutor’s image to view a tab that has the meeting slots the tutor had offered.

 

Ordering your tutees by stage or programme

Can I re-order my tutees on the ePortfolio front page?

You can order your tutees in three different ways:

  • In one list
  • By Stage
  • By Programme

As standard, your tutees will be order in one list, as shown in the image below.

[click on any image to enlarge]

To change to a different view, in the top right hand corner of the ePortfolio system, choose Settings > Staff Preferences.

 

 

 

Change the drop down labelled Tutee format to your preferred view.

 

 

Your front page should now reflect this view:

 

Case Study: Personal Tutoring in Dental Sciences

 

James Field, Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry/Honorary StR in Prosthodontics, recently provided a case study that detailed the School of Dental Science’s use of ePortfolio to support personal tutoring. You can see this case study below.

Please access the QuILT website to access more University case studies.
http://teaching.ncl.ac.uk/casestudies/

What did you do? The school worked with MSED to develop an electronic portfolio that captures and records both clinical activity, and personal reflections for BDS students. The personal reflections are able to be tagged with domains, facilitating the construction of a personal development plan which forms the basis for each tutor meeting. Student concerns can be logged against individuals on the system by members of staff, and followed up with their personal tutor.
Who is involved? The eportfolio (iDentity) is used by all BDS students and staff
How do you do it? The portfolio is available online – we provide basic training for new staff. Students are encouraged to enter reflective logs into the system, guided by their clinical teachers or academic lecturers. Tutor meetings occur twice a year as a minimum, and a template online allows students to draw on reflections across the term in order to construct a SWOT analysis and personal development plan. Tutors can work through this and use it as a basis for discussion. It also allows tutors to set a number of action points or goals, with time-related boundaries that the students can sign off once completed.
Why do you do it? The system provides an opportunity for the students to engage with reflective practise, which forms an important part of their professional development. Once captured, it also allows them to draw on this information across the whole term to form a summary of their experiences. The system also facilitates the tutor meeting, making the content specific to that individual student and guiding the tutor towards any specific areas of concern.
Does it work? The system works very well, and our students are very supportive of it. It takes a while to engage effectively with reflective practise in the early clinical stages, but we now provide a fairly comprehensive introduction to reflection in Stage 2 which the students can build on throughout the remaining years.

 

 

Deleting a meeting

To delete a meeting you must first ensure that all the attendees have been removed, and any notes that have been attached to the meeting are removed. You must be the creator of the meeting to cancel it.

Click on My Meetings and with the meeting you wish to delete click view. You can now see the attendees on the left hand side. The creator of the meeting will have a star next the their name. Remove the attendees by clicking on the red cross next to their names. Image demonstrating where to remove attendees

Once you have removed the attendees, remove any notes by clicking the delete button beside the note (if the note has been locked, you will not be able to remove the meeting). Then select ‘edit meeting’ and  you should see the option to delete the meeting.